All That Jazz

What I love about Tokyo is the fact that you can just show up one day and in addition to the permanent attractions, there will always be several cool events on. After I had gotten off the night bus and was waiting for Jenny to arrive, I checked what was on that day and saw that there was a students’ jazz festival in Yoyogi Park, and a cocktail event on in the Park Hyatt New York bar! When I met Jenny, we dropped our bags off at the hotel and then went for a wander in Ueno Park, a favourite place of mine, before going to Yoyogi Park to check out the jazz.

IMG_5214

Jazz is quite big in Japan, and there are so many towns around the country that have their own jazz festivals, including my own city of Kanazawa. I don`t know why they like jazz so much, but I think most schools have music clubs and my own school has a brass band who I think are really impressive. Yoyogi Park is a popular hang-out for young people, being right beside Harajuku, and this jazz festival showcased the talents of university students. There were about three different performance spaces where different groups played, and there were the ubiquitous festival food stalls as well. With the cherry blossoms blooming, it was the perfect way to spend an afternoon.

IMG_5205
The bassist is a high-school student (hence the uniform), and hers was the most impressive solo of the group.

IMG_5210
IMG_5212

Jenny was still running on adrenaline so we decided to spend the evening in style at the New York Bar in the Park Hyatt Hotel, Shinjuku, made famous by the film Lost in Translation. I wanted to go there because on my first night in Japan, one of my compatriots knew that we were staying close to this hotel and wanted to have a drink there. A few of us went along, being unprepared as how to find it and what it was going to be like, so we had a great misadventure getting lost wandering around the high-rises in the maze that is Shinjuku. When we got there we found out that there was a cover charge of ¥2200 (€18) which we were not willing to part with, as the yen we had brought with us had to last us til payday in a month`s time. Instead, we went down to the Peak Bar, just a few floors lower which had the same menu, great views and no cover charge. But when we went in, we thought that we were going to be turned away because of the dress code, as one of our group was wearing shorts. But Japanese hospitality triumphed as they provided him with a pair of black trousers! After changing in the bathrooms, though he was still showing a lot of ankle, we sat down to enjoy an expensive drink and great night views.

IMG_5222

This time though, I had done my research and was prepared. The New York Bar was hosting ‘mixologist’ Jim Meehan from New York speakeasy PDT (Please Don’t Tell), so I thought that it would be a good time to finally visit it. I had originally planned to go early for an aperatif and to be out of there before 8 o`clock to avoid the cover charge. However, with getting the train from Yoyogi back to Ueno, getting dressed up nice (because we wanted to get into the spirit of things) and getting the train to Shinjuku, it was 8 by the time we arrived there. I had debated just going for a look and then leaving, afraid of the potential cost, but we convinced ourselves to stay for the following reasons: 1) it would be nice to experience it once, and properly 2) it was the start of our trip and we still had loads of money and we would probably be slumming it once we got to Shikoku 3) it would be my early birthday celebration.

IMG_5228

I`m so glad we went and stayed to enjoy it. The staff were superb, we had a table by the window looking out at the Tokyo night skyline, amazing drinks and live jazz. I ordered a Lion’s Den, one of the New York specials, a kind of chilli margarita, while Jenny got a Cosmopolitan. We got another round, and because we hadn’t eaten dinner, got a fancy hot dog each too. The jazz singer on the night was a French-Canadian lady, fabulously dressed, and the music was great, really nice to listen to, but not too obtrusive for conversation. We hung out there for a few hours, enjoying the atmosphere. I think the film Lost in Translation is nice to look at and it does manage to convey the bewilderment that comes from visiting an unfamiliar place, but when I watched it again recently I was annoyed by the characters’ disinterest. I can be sympathetic to their dissatisfaction with their aimless lives, but why would they sit facing away from the window?! (I know, I know, it gives us the better view)

One thought on “All That Jazz

  1. First of all, I am so envious that you went to the bar from Lost in Translation. It is a film I love (even if they do sit with their backs to the window!)

    Jazz in the park also sounds fantastic. I wonder why it’s so popular over there… You know Murakami owned a jazz bar for years before he started writing books?

Leave a Reply

